Publicado el

Happy Birthday, Jack Kerouac!

elifunt

Well, okay. I’m 2 days off. His birthday was actually March 12, 1922. But in honor of his 90th birthday, I will tell you what the man and his writing mean to me.

I grew up in the deep suburbs, fairly sheltered, in a very church-going family. When I was 12, I met Kim Deal (um, not actual Kim Deal – friend pseudonym Kim Deal, just so we’re clear) and that’s when my life outside of the bubble began. Kim’s family was Catholic instead of Protestant (1 hr church services instead of 3), a lot more cosmopolitan than mine, plus she had an older brother. She began to systematically introduce me to most of the cool things in the world. This included the Doors, with whom I became completely obsessed. And it was while reading the 10th biography or so of Jim Morrison that I discovered this “Jack…

Ver la entrada original 716 palabras más

Acerca de manonmona

MANON KUBLER. PERIODISTA , ESCRITORA EN RETIRADA. A LA SAGA DE UNA NUEVA CRONICA. PREPARO MIS BALAS. EXPULSO MIS FUEGOS. AFINO MIS LLAGAS. AVANZO. ME DEMORO. VUELVO A AVANZAR. BUSCO ESTOMAGOS QUE SUJETEN TOXICOS Y EXTREMOS. AQUI ESTOY, A LA SAGA, VIVIA Y SOBREVIVIDA PARA LA ALEGRIA DE POCOS, SALUD MANON

Responder

