Publicado el

Writerly Texts

UC Berkeley Comparative Literature Undergraduate Journal

By Catherine Lee

Last semester, as part of my honors thesis seminar, I had to read a lot of Roland Barthes: Mythologies, S/Z, Camera Lucida. I am sorry to say that a lot of Barthes was simply lost on me. Unfortunately, my brain was unfit for his genius. Sometimes I speculated that he was a literary alien, speaking a different language than the one I was majoring in. I don’t think I wasn’t cut out for theory. However, the bits of Barthes that somehow managed to find their holds inside my brain have had a big influence on the way I view literature and life.

A very fascinating concept that I would like to introduce to you and attempt to explain by extensively borrowing Barthes’ words is the concept of readerly (French: lisible) and writerly (French: scriptible) texts, which appears in the opening sections of S/Z.

Ver la entrada original 366 palabras más

Acerca de manonmona

MANON KUBLER. PERIODISTA , ESCRITORA EN RETIRADA. A LA SAGA DE UNA NUEVA CRONICA. PREPARO MIS BALAS. EXPULSO MIS FUEGOS. AFINO MIS LLAGAS. AVANZO. ME DEMORO. VUELVO A AVANZAR. BUSCO ESTOMAGOS QUE SUJETEN TOXICOS Y EXTREMOS. AQUI ESTOY, A LA SAGA, VIVIA Y SOBREVIVIDA PARA LA ALEGRIA DE POCOS, SALUD MANON

Responder

